Pumpkin Cam

So I know that my goal was to learn something about photography by this Tuesday, but I’m not going to lie … I forgot. Kind of. Although I did forget to actually learn something, I did put some serious thought into the whole idea of photography. 

At a journalism conference in high school, I learned that photography is all about moments and lighting. I will have to come back to lighting next week (or some time in the future), but I’ve been really thinking about moments. Photography freezes a moment in time, and if you pick that exact frame, that perfect frame, you can tell a whole story through one photo. You can capture the motion and emotion through a still frame. 

I’ve only taken one arguably “good” photo — at least by photojournalism standards. I took this picture as my final for the photojournalism unit in my Graphics and Design class. I got an A+, which was pretty darn hard to get in that class. This photo did one thing right: capture raw, pure emotion. 

Some pictures don’t quite capture that kind of emotion, but they can still tell stories. And sometimes, that’s okay. So here’s my story of Halloween. 

Before.

During.

After.

The end! Happy All Saints Day!

Leave a Reply

