Caramel Apple Cookie Tartlets

I have a hard time accepting compliments on my baking. It’s not that I’m particularly good at baking, I can just read and follow directions. The only thing that I have going for me is that I’m not easily intimidated and I’m always willing to try new things. Sometimes, I might not have the exact recipe for what I want, so I have a tendency to take a couple recipes that are close to what I want and combine them.  

Sunday morning, when I was trying to decide what to bake for the day, nothing was hitting me. I was about tapped on pumpkin things, but it was too soon for anything peppermint. I remembered a post I re-blogged a few weeks ago that I’ve really been meaning to try: cookie cups. So I used that as my inspiration and combined it with my passion for fitting everything in my life to the season, and decided that I would make Caramel Apple Cookie Tartlets. I would use peanut butter cookie dough to make a cookie tart shell, and then fuse that with a fall classic, caramel apple pizza, to come up with the perfect fall treat. Let me know what you think of my idea!

Shell
1 package Pillsbury peanut butter cookie dough 

Peanut Butter Filling (inspired by this Caramel Apple Pizza recipe)
1/2 brick of cream cheese (4 ounces
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 tablespoon milk 

Cinnamon Filling (inspired by this Caramel Apple Pizza recipe)
1/2 brick of cream cheese (4 ounces)
1 tablespoon Brown Sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon vanilla 

Topping
1 Granny Smith apple
2 tablespoons lemon juice
caramel ice cream topping 

Start with a roll of pre-made peanut butter cookie dough and a madeleine pan. 

Flip the pan upside down and press a thin layer of cookie dough on top of each madeleine shell. 

Bake at 350ºF for about 9 minutes or until golden brown. They will spread a little bit in the oven, so as soon as you take them out of the oven, take a butter knife and cut along the edges of each to separate. After five minutes, use a butter knife to loosen cookie cups and set on a wire wrack to cool.

Meanwhile, make your fillings. I couldn’t decide between cinnamon or peanut butter, so I made both. (If you would like to use one filling for all the tartlets, double the filling recipe for whichever flavor you prefer.)

For the peanut butter filling, combine brown sugar, cream cheese, peanut butter and milk. 

Blend until smooth, and then put in a separate bowl. 

For the cinnamon filling, combine cream cheese, brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla. 

Blend until smooth. 

Take your fillings and place each in a Ziploc bag. Set aside. 

Quarter a Granny Smith Apple and then cut off the seeds and core. 

Slice the apple into very thin wedges. Put the apple wedges and a few tablespoons of lemon juice in a Ziploc bag, leaving some air in the bag. Seal it and shake to coat all the apples.

Cut the corner off of each filling bag to make a 1/2 inch opening. Pipe the filling into the cookie shell, alternating between cinnamon and peanut butter. Top each tartlet with two apples slices.

Drizzle with caramel sauce. Serve!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Caramel Apple Cookie Tartlets

  1. Pingback: Fall Harvest! | EmJoyable

Leave a Reply

