Like Mother, Like Daughter

It’s really crazy how quickly you start to feel like an adult. If you told me six months ago that two of my best friends were going to be staying with me for a couple nights, I would have done little more than be sure I had a few extra clean towels. But for some reason, when those same two friends no longer live two blocks away, actually plan a visit, pack their things and then travel several hours to visit (regardless of the fact that they didn’t travel only to see me), it makes the whole thing feel like a new experience.

It’s like when I was a little kid and my grandparents came over for Christmas. My brothers and I would have to clean the whole house from top to bottom, and I never really understood why. To me, we had no one to impress! I knew my grandparents loved us regardless of the fact that we had Nerf amo all over the playroom floor. But now I feel like I am my mother, cleaning to try to impress people that there is no need to impress. I am my mother’s daughter.

However, I must say, that even though I did attempt to clean my house, I was very proud of the fact that it only took me about five minutes to do it. My apartment was just clean on its own today! I was very proud of this fact, because it’s the first time in my whole life that I’ve been really good about things perfectly in order.

So today, my friends will be arriving in the great city of Chicago, and I will be their lovely host. I love being a host. I learn from the best, actually: my mother. My mom is the definition of cute host. Every time I go home, my mom still vacuums my room for me, which I love! She decorates our house beautifully for every holiday and hosts a lovely family Christmas with made-up games and themed presents. She cooks the most incredible breakfasts (omelets, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, you name it!) every morning I’m there.

Between my mom and my dad, there is always a delicious dinner to be had.

My mom even keeps an overnight basket in the guest bedroom, every time we have visitors!

Straight down to the table settings, my mom always keeps our house adorably cute.

So I plan on taking a little bit of my mom’s magic and making a lovely stay for my friends … straight down to the table settings.

Pardon to Skull — it’s halloween this weekend!

Leave a Reply

