XOXO EmJoyable

Before today, I hadn’t seen an episode of Gossip Girl since January, when I was sleeping on a blowup mattress in my brother’s basement in NYC. So when I stumbled upon Season 4 on NetFlix this evening as my man was on his way out the door for the night, I knew exactly what was in store for my night: several solid hours of trashy TV served along with a side of cold pizza and a frosty glass of Grey Goose and Crystal Light.

As tempted as I was to push my blog aside for the night and indulge in a few of my guilty pleasures, I figured I’d just capitalize on my hours spent in front of the TV and post it here. I’ve decided to share with you the five most important things I learned from Gossip Girl over the years. 

5. Almonds with Yogurt 
I had heard of yogurt with granola, but yogurt with almonds was a GG gift. I never would have thought of the combo if it wasn’t for the episode when Jenny starts going crazy and sends her minions off to get her skinless almonds on her yogurt that she ends up dumping or Eric’s head. Either way, I came out with my new favorite breakfast — probably the best thing Jenny ever did for anyone.

4. Fashion 
I’ve never claimed to be very fashionable. I like simple things, like solids, stripes and bows. However, GG confirmed my beliefs that high-fashion isn’t always what it’s cracked up to be. Sometimes seeing the things these girls sport makes me feel like my navy cable-knit sweater (however boring it may be) reins superior. 

3. Tights
We all know how I feel about tights (and if you don’t, catch up here). So while I’ve always had a thing for this darling winter accessory, GG taught me to be a little more saucy with them. On top of my standard black, grey and sweater-knit tights, GG gave me the inspiration to add red, plaid and dark purple to the line-up. 

2. Fancy Cocktails
Since the GG bunch were sophomores in high school, they were sipping on top-shelf martinis in long-stem glasses on the steps of the Met. I’ve never quite had the pleasure of doing quite that, but I am such a sucker for anything that ends in -ini: appletini, frostini, flirtini, etc. A perfect night out requires a pair of black heels, freshly applied mascara and a drink with at least 3 different fruit-flavored liquors. 

1. Good friends
I know as well as anyone that best friends fight, sometimes even more than good friends. I have had my share of stay-up-crying-till-2AM, call-each-other-every-name-in-the-book, stomach-wrenching fights with really, really great friends, but it happens. But it shouldn’t happen weekly for five years. Even though Serena and Blair have had some really great friend moments, I would never push my best friend in a fountain. Sometimes you need to be around really crappy people just to feel better about your own life, and GG really fills that role for me. 

Leave a Reply

