Faux-tographer

First of all, how funny is this headline!? I mean, it totally would have earned me a big, fat “F” from my journalism editing professor during the Headlines unit, but I thought it was pretty funny. It describes my photography skills perfectly, in that they are very much fake. I know nothing about photography, which is unfortunate considering the fact that Tuesdays are supposed to be the day that I share photos on my blog (as you might have noticed, I have skirted around it for the past few weeks). I might have to work on changing the theme for Tuesdays, but until then, we’ll use this as a learning opportunity. 

I tend to use the same angles for just about every photo I take and act like turning on the black-and-white filter somehow makes it more artsy. I know nothing about any photography terms, and I sometimes have a hard enough time figuring out how to turn off the flash on my point-and-shoot digital camera. I know about the Rule of Thirds from the photojournalism unit in my graphics and design class, but I am terrible at visualizing where each third actually is and often don’t even know what the subject is anyway. I do know that no photo will do the sunrise over the lake justice and that sometimes turning the camera around and snapping your own pic of you and your best friend in the middle of the mall is actually the best photo possible. 

I have had a few moments where I think I might actually be decent at taking pictures, like the picture I took for my tights post, but those moments are few and far between.

Then there was a three-day trip to Lindenwood University to visit one of my best friends, when I thought I was really on fire with the artsy photos …

… but then I just realized that changing them to black and white didn’t always make them “artsy.”

I have friends that are really good at photography. I can always tell that it’s better than mine, but I can’t pinpoint the exact reason why. This one is one of my favorites from my friend Alex, Owner-Operator of AC Photography, which looks like it belongs in a silver frame in a holiday Macy’s window. 

Other than the obvious fact that his camera is substantially better than mine, there’s just something about photography done by a person who knows about photography that really makes it pop. 

I just now decided what my Tuesday Photo Post should be. Instead of showcasing my crappy photography, I’m going to make a legitimate attempt to learn a little something about photography every week. Then I will share a photo demonstrating my progress every Tuesday. Let’s see how this goes… 

Leave a Reply

