Biscotti

My grampa is Sicilian and awesome. He’s taught me the art of stuffing and eating an artichoke, how delicious ricotta cheese is on waffles and the importance of a crunchy biscotti meeting a hot cup of coffee. Granted, he probably wouldn’t be happy about the fact that my biscotti are vanilla-almond and not anise, but at least it’s a start. 

Since I’ve been on my fall kick lately, more often than not I can be found sipping on coffee out of a cute mug and admiring my darling view. On Saturday morning, I poured myself a cup of Guatemala Antigua in my favorite mug and couldn’t help but notice that something very important was missing. 

 

I was missing a crispy, crunchy  biscotti to dunk in there! So I cracked open one of my favorite cookbooks, Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book, and flipped right to Almond Biscotti page. I could tell from the start that it was a great idea. 

When I was done baking, I knew that the first thing I had to do was wrap up a few biscotti and stick them in the mail to send back to Gramps. I won’t know the official opinion for a few days, but I have to say that I think they turned out great. 

Almond Biscotti

2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
2 egg yolks
6 tablespoons butter, melted
1 1/2 teaspoons finely shredded orange or lemon peel (I did not use either, I substituted 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla extract instead)
1 cup coarsely chopped almonds (I used sliced instead)

Preheat oven to 325ºF. Spray two cookie sheets lightly with Pam; set aside. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.

 

Place eggs and egg yolks in well and stir into the flour mixture. 

Add butter and vanilla (or orange or lemon peel if you feel like it); stir until dough starts to form a ball. Stir in almonds. 

Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface; divide into three equal portions. Shape each portion into a 14-inch-long loaf. 

Place loaves about 3 inches apart on prepared cookie sheets; flatten loaves slightly until about 1 1/2 inches wide. 

Bake 25 – 30 minutes or until firm and light brown. Cool on cookie sheets for 15 minutes.

Transfer baked loaves to a cutting board. Use a serrated knife to cut each loaf into 1/2-inch slices. Place slices on cookie sheets. 

Bake for 10 minutes. Turn slices over; bake for 10 to 15 minutes more or until crisp and dry. Serve with coffee, milk or cocoa. 

Leave a Reply

