Easter Eggs Pt. 2: Go Crazy

Easter eggs are a real treat! I mean, there is absolutely nothing wrong with any craft that is 90% edible. I’m 23 years old and still color eggs annually. So today, I will be sharing with you some fun ideas for decorating your Easter eggs this year!

I would like to make the same preface that I made in my Easter Eggs Pt. 1 post, which focused on how to hard boil an egg. These tips and suggestions are not EmJoyable exclusives, but an aggregated list of suggestions that I’ve dug up for you. Consider this your one-stop-egg-dying-shop. It’ll be great!

Kool-Aid Colored Eggs! - Copyright Hey Jen Renee

Before I get started, I need to get a rant off my chest right quick. What did we ever do before Pinterest?! Can you imagine all the people out there with these really awesome ideas that they were totally hogging for themselves? How would we know how to organize our ribbons, dress up our children or do that cool braid thing? I digress.

Back to the egg decorating! Check out some of my ideas below. I will be dying my eggs on Saturday and be sharing my pictures with you all on Tuesday!

All-over Color 

Before a week ago, I had no idea that there was any way to color an egg other than the box of PAAS egg dye that you buy at Walgreens. Depending on what stores you are shopping at and what items you have at home, this may or may not still be your cheapest option. Here are a few other ways to get all-over color on your eggs.

Wilton Icing Color - This method requires Wilton Icing Color, vinegar and hot water. I thought this will cool because I have Wilton icing color coming out of my ears! I’m actually kind of embarrased that I didn’t already know about this method since icing color is almost the same as food coloring, which I did know about.

Food Coloring - For this method, you will need standard food coloring, boiling water and vinegar. Easy peasy.

Au Naturale  - I thought this was a really cool idea, but I would probably never actually do it. This would be great if I had beats and saffron just chilling in my cabinet at all times, but I don’t think it’d worth buying those things just to dye eggs. But if you do, knock yourself out! Let me know how it goes! For this, you will need a variety of fruits, veggies and/or spices and vinegar.

Tie-Dye - This strategy is so much better than my attempts to tie-dye eggs as a kid. My plan was to just dip the egg in as many little cups as possible, but that usually just turned them brown. This is a really cool way that uses the polarizing effects of vinegar and oil to create a tie-dye appearance. I’m really excited for this one! For this you will need vinegar, cooking oil and food coloring.

Dye with a Tie - I literally mean dye with a dye. I think this is brilliant! But only if you can find cheap, pretty ties. That’s the part that sounds like kind of a pain. Be sure to check out the link for the end result of differs tie patterns. Very cool!

Copyright Our Best Bites

Kool-Aide - I think this is by far the easiest and cheapest way to do it. All it is is Kool-Aid mix and water! And it doesn’t even have to be hot water! This one really pumped me up!

TIP: Put the egg inside a wire whist to easily dip the egg in and out of the egg dye. #Pinterest

Color Combinations 

Half & Half – Dye half (horizontal or verical) your egg in one color by dipping only part in each color dye. Or try leaving half white. This HRH Collection manicure post got me really pumped for this design.

Sponge Painted : This ones pretty self-explainitory. Dip a sponge (or scrunched paper towel) in dye and dab your egg to your liking.

Before you color …

Crayons – Use a light colored crayon to draw words, shapes or patterns on your egg. Dye, let dry. Everything in crayon will remain free of dye.

Tape – Press tape in rings around the eggs. Dye, let dry, remove tape. #stripes

Circle stickers – Press small, round stickers scattered across the eggs. Dye, let dry, remove stickers. #polkadots

Add Some Flair

So now that your egg is colored, it’s time to dress it up! Top your eggs with glitter, sequins, ribbons and felt!

Copyright - Delish.com

Do you have any egg decorating ideas? Tell me all about them! Send me pics of your eggs, too!

Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

